United States Senate

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

September 13, 2022

The Honorable Charles E. Schumer Majority Leader United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Leader Schumer,

At the founding of our nation, then-General George Washington penned, "*When the civil and military powers cooperate, and afford mutual aid to each other there can be little doubt of things going well.*" Two centuries later, that still rings true. Yet should this body fail in its top Constitutional responsibility of providing for a common defense, our armed services will be left directionless, lack stable funding, and be devoid of civilian Congressional oversight.

Chairman Reed and Ranking Member Inhofe saw to it that the FY2023 National Defense Authorization Act remained bipartisan and the result safeguards the United States. Additionally, the bill invests in technology advancements and procurement through a \$45 billion budget topline increase, provides service members with a 4.6 percent pay raise, and strengthens our forces in cybersecurity, space, the Indo-Pacific, personnel management, and many other areas.

Members of the House passed their NDAA on July 14th, by a vote of 329 - 101. For the bill to go to conference and make it to President Biden's desk, our colleagues must have the opportunity to debate the Senate version with an open amendment process. As such, we the undersigned respectfully request that you call the *James M. Inhofe National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2023* to the Senate floor before the conclusion of the September work period.

Respectfully,

Tommy Tuberville United States Senator

John Cornyn United States Senator

Todd Young United States Senator

Mike Bra

Mike Braun United States Senator

illi.

Thom Tillis United States Senator

Roger Wicker United States Senator

Kevin Cramer United States Senator

Det Suder

Deb Fischer United States Senator

M. Much

M. Michael Rounds United States Senator

synthiasth

Cynthia M. Lummis United States Senator

Chuck Grassle

Charles E. Grassley United States Senator

Joni K. Ernst United States Senator

R.W. Mall

Roger W. Marshall United States Senator

Tom Ci

Tom Cotton United States Senator

Rick Scott United States Senator

Inocha Machbury

Marsha Blackburn United States Senator

Eur Sulli

Dan Sullivan United States Senator

Michael S. Lee United States Senator

4 inch

James E. Risch United States Senator

Crisoo

Mike Crapo United States Senator

1\0

Ron Johnson United States Senator

Cendy Light - Spith

Cindy Hyde-Smith United States Senator

Ted Cruz United States Senator

John Hoeven United States Senator