Johnson Co-Sponsors Resolution Opposing the EPA’s Plan to Make Electricity Rates Skyrocket

Washington — Sen. Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), chairman of the Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee, joined 47 other senators today in co-sponsoring a resolution to disapprove of the Environment Protection Agency’s (EPA) proposed regulations for existing power sources.

“I am again disappointed in the EPA’s use of executive overreach to harm Wisconsin families and businesses by putting at risk our ability to have affordable, dependable and reliable energy,” Sen. Johnson said. “As he promised as a candidate, President Obama’s latest regulatory overreach from the EPA would certainly cause electricity prices to skyrocket in Wisconsin and across the country.  The best estimate right now is that his proposed plan would end up costing Americans $7,000 per person.  Wisconsinites deserve better. We can have both a clean environment and a healthy economy — in fact, we need a strong and healthy economy in order to afford the pollution controls necessary for a clean environment. The EPA’s regulatory overreach continues to take us in the wrong direction.” 

The resolution, introduced by Senators Shelly More Capito (R-WV) and Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND), is co-sponsored by Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY.); Jim Inhofe (R-OK.), chairman of the Environment and Public Works Committee; Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), chair of the Energy and Natural Resources Committee; Lamar Alexander (R-TN.); John Barrasso (R-Y.); Roy Blunt (R-MO); John Boozman (R-AR); Bill Cassidy (R-LA); Dan Coats (R-IN); Thad Cochran (R-MS); Bob Corker (R-TN); John Cornyn (R-TX); Tom Cotton (R-AR); Mike Crapo (R-ID); Ted Cruz (R-TX); Steve Daines (R-MT); Mike Enzi (R-WY); Joni Ernst (R-IA); Deb Fischer (R-NE); Jeff Flake (R-FL); Lindsey Graham (R-SC); Chuck Grassley (R-IA); Orrin Hatch (R-UT); John Hoeven (R-ND); Johnny Isakson (R-GA); James Lankford (R-OK); Mike Lee (R-UT); Joe Manchin (D-WV); John McCain (R-AZ); Jerry Moran (R-KS); Rand Paul (R-KY); David Perdue (R-GA); Jim Risch (R-ID); Pat Roberts (R-KS); Mike Rounds (R-SD); Marco Rubio (R-FL); Ben Sasse (R-NE); Tim Scott (R-SC); Jeff Sessions (R-AL); Richard Shelby (R-AL); Dan Sullivan (R-AK); John Thune (R-SD); Thom Tillis (R-NC); Pat Toomey (R-PA); David Vitter (R-LA); and Roger Wicker (R-MS).

To view the full resolution, click here.