Sen. Johnson, Colleagues Introduce Legislation to Stop Government Shutdowns, Force Congress to Do Its Job

WASHINGTON – On Monday, U.S. Sen. Ron Johnson (R-Wis.) joined U.S. Sen. James Lankford (R-Okla.), U.S. Sen. Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.) and eight of their colleagues in reintroducing the Prevent Government Shutdowns Act of 2023, which would take government shutdowns off the table and force Congress to stay in town until their work is complete.


First introduced in February 2019, the Prevent Government Shutdowns Act requires all Members of Congress to stay in Washington, DC and work until the spending bills are complete. This will prevent a government-wide shutdown, continue critical services and operations for Americans, and limit harm to federal workers while Congress completes appropriations.

Upon a lapse in government funding, the bill would implement an automatic continuing resolution (CR), on rolling 14-day periods, based on the current spending levels enacted in the previous fiscal year. This would prevent a shutdown and continue critical services and operations until a new spending package is approved.

Sens. Johnson, Lankford and Hassan were joined in introducing the bill by Senators Kyrsten Sinema (I-Ariz.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Bill Cassidy, M.D. (R-La.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Angus King (I-Maine), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.) and Mark Kelly (D-Ariz.).

The full text of the bill can be found here.