Sen. Ron Johnson Leads Colleagues in Constitutional Check on Iran Deal

WASHINGTON — On Thursday, U.S. Sen. Ron Johnson (R-Wis.) led 22 of his Republican colleagues in reintroducing the Iran Nuclear Treaty Act, which requires the president to submit any renewed nuclear deal with Iran to the Senate as a treaty.

The Iran Nuclear Treaty Act would strengthen the role Congress plays by ensuring the advice and consent of the Senate is taken into account for any new nuclear agreement and prevent the administration from waiving, suspending, reducing or limiting sanctions on Iran before the Senate has concurred.

“Almost everything that President Biden has done since taking office has weakened our country. Our adversaries notice that and use any moment of American weakness to become aggressive and act out,” said Sen. Johnson. “Any potential agreement with Iran involves risks that affect our entire nation. It is critical to the security of America and to world peace that any deal President Biden negotiates with Iran be deemed a treaty requiring approval by the U.S. Senate.”

Sen. Johnson is joined on the legislation by Senators Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Todd Young (R-Ind.) and Katie Britt (R-Ala.).

The full text of the bill can be found here.