Sen. Johnson and Colleagues Introduce Resolution to Block Unconstitutional Biden ATF Rule

WASHINGTON – On Wednesday, U.S. Sen. Ron Johnson (R-Wis.) joined 43 of his Senate GOP colleagues in introducing a joint resolution of disapproval under the Congressional Review Act to strike down the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives’ (ATF) rule on the definition of “Engaged in the Business” as a Dealer in Firearms, which ignores the law and congressional intent. The rule flagrantly violates the Constitution by requiring anyone who sells a firearm to register as a federal firearm licensee.

Sen. Johnson is joined on this resolution by Senators Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), Roger Marshall, M.D. (R-Kan.), Ted Budd (R-N.C.), John Kennedy (R-La.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W. Va.), Pete Ricketts (R-Neb.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Markwayne Mullin (R-Okla.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Bill Cassidy, M.D. (R-La.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), James Lankford (R-Okla.), John Thune (R-S.D.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), J.D. Vance (R-Ohio), John Barrasso, M.D. (R-Wyo.), Katie Britt (R-Ala.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), and Eric Schmitt (R-Mo.). 

Full text of the resolution can be found here.